Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner

2004 Escape V6 Oxygen Sensor Replacement

18K views 11 replies 8 participants last post by  Manic Mechanic 
#1 ·
Hi, I am sure this question has been asked before, but I tried to some searching on the topic with not much luck on the 2004 Escape.

Anyway I was wondering if there are any diagrams that show the location of each oxygen sensor. I read something on this forum that said they were somewhat difficult to find and wanted to do some research before I get into it.

Im extremely new to this, but any help would be appreciated.

#2 ·
Before you spend $50+ ea., what is making you believe you need to replace an O2 sensor?
Are you throwing a code/codes? What are the codes?

#4 ·
Ya sometimes the o2 sensors might be reacting to another problem like a lean/rich condition caused by something else.

#7 ·
Hey again.

I got the error code back from the shop. It is PO430 CAT Efficiency below spec. I am guessing this is the rear O2 sensor. I am wondering which of the two links in the above post do I follow and what is the difficulty of replacing this sensor.

#8 ·
tuloon said:
Hey again.

I got the error code back from the shop. It is PO430 CAT Efficiency below spec. I am guessing this is the rear O2 sensor. I am wondering which of the two links in the above post do I follow and what is the difficulty of replacing this sensor.
Yeah, that's why I asked - it's not your O2 sensor that's bad.

There's two threads that might interest you.

First: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=12242

Second: viewtopic.php?f=8&t=10057&start=110 , and a quote from it (my experience this past week which I dealt with the CEL w/P0430 being on for half a year):
simplyphp said: