Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
As far as that's concerned, that applies to 01-07. Fourthmeal is a wealth of knowledge in this area so I'm sure he can answer pretty much anything you need. To answer your question, yes, you can fit a double din radio in there....with a little modification. When pulling the stock radio out, the top of the slot the radio fits in needs to be trimmed down. I didn't use an exact math....kinda just eyeballed it and trimmed it with a dremel. Rinse and repeat.

·
Registered
1,058 Posts
I appreciate the compliment but I am not an expert w/ these years of Escapes and their DIN mountings.

I can guide you through how to install an active component system and a false floor, but because I've never actually done a 2din in an older escape I can't claim I know how to do it.

·
Registered
197 Posts
Unfortunately, no, I didn't take any pictures. It wasn't pretty anyway and I wouldn't claim I did it if anyone asked. :doh: But all that matters is that you can't see it and it functions as it should. It's pretty straight forward once you get the stock radio out. Just use caution when you pull the trim panel off. The metal clips on the bottom gouged the heck out of my dash from rubbing against it. It's caught a few people on here.

·
Registered
1,126 Posts