Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I currently have sync build into my 09 escape. I was wondering if I buy the bezel with the spot for the navigation; and then buy a 2009 oem ford navigation. Will it work with my sync in my escape?

Thanks. I would love to have sirius travel link in my car.

Thanks again.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,058 Posts
I don't claim to know much about SYNC, but I can tell you that it probably won't work unless it was made for SYNC in the first place as SYNC is not a modular product, it is proprietary.

I'm having incredible success with my Pioneer F900BT head unit (running 3.0 software), which may serve all your needs and then some. It just depends on what you need.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,058 Posts
scott6003 said:
My car has sync built in. I had the sun and sync package. I just wanted to know if I added a oem navigation will it work my my built in sync

Thanks
As I said, SYNC is a proprietary product.

People make adapters though:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Metra-Axxess-AFSI-0 ... 286.c0.m14

The reason I brought up the F900BT is that it has a sync-like feature already onboard, for navigation, ipod, cd and dvd, phone, etc. A backup option if you can't "sync" a replacement head unit to your existing stuff.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I think we are talking about different things.

If I take the navigation out of a 2009 ford escape, why would it not work. The navigation is from ford and made for sync. I am not trying to get a aftermarket.

Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,058 Posts
scott6003 said:
I think we are talking about different things.

If I take the navigation out of a 2009 ford escape, why would it not work. The navigation is from ford and made for sync. I am not trying to get a aftermarket.

Thanks
Because from my research I noticed that a SYNC module for a navigation unit looks to be different than a non-SYNC module. At least that's all I could find. Like the nav models have SYNC built in.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
fourthmeal said:
scott6003 said:
I think we are talking about different things.

If I take the navigation out of a 2009 ford escape, why would it not work. The navigation is from ford and made for sync. I am not trying to get a aftermarket.

Thanks
Because from my research I noticed that a SYNC module for a navigation unit looks to be different than a non-SYNC module. At least that's all I could find. Like the nav models have SYNC built in.
Oh ok.

I get you now. I just use my sync so much and I love having the usb port. I just really wanted the sirius traffic link.

Maybe I will call my dealer and see what they have to say.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,058 Posts
FYI The F900BT has MSN Direct, which has live traffic updates (amongst many other things), and a USB port. So, you'll still get all the things you like if you are forced to go aftermarket.

For instance, while traveling through Dallas on my way back to Vegas, there was some heavy construction and a wreck reported live on the map. The nav system rerouted me through some streets and I followed it not knowing if I was ever going to end up back on the highway. As it finally started redirecting me back to the hwy, I looked back and noticed the freeway parts I avoided were gridlocked and frozen solid. So, I'm a Pioneer Nav guy for life, now. :)

I'm sure a lot of good nav head units out there offer a feature like this though. Its just a matter of cost.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
fourthmeal said:
FYI The F900BT has MSN Direct, which has live traffic updates (amongst many other things), and a USB port. So, you'll still get all the things you like if you are forced to go aftermarket.

For instance, while traveling through Dallas on my way back to Vegas, there was some heavy construction and a wreck reported live on the map. The nav system rerouted me through some streets and I followed it not knowing if I was ever going to end up back on the highway. As it finally started redirecting me back to the hwy, I looked back and noticed the freeway parts I avoided were gridlocked and frozen solid. So, I'm a Pioneer Nav guy for life, now. :)

I'm sure a lot of good nav head units out there offer a feature like this though. Its just a matter of cost.
Nice.

Can you tie the pioneer usb into the current usb in the escape?
Also how is the startup time on it now. I heard the old firmware took like 2 mins to even startup and connect to your phone.
One more question lol.. Is there anyway to get sirius and xm for the 900BT

Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,058 Posts
scott6003 said:
fourthmeal said:
FYI The F900BT has MSN Direct, which has live traffic updates (amongst many other things), and a USB port. So, you'll still get all the things you like if you are forced to go aftermarket.

For instance, while traveling through Dallas on my way back to Vegas, there was some heavy construction and a wreck reported live on the map. The nav system rerouted me through some streets and I followed it not knowing if I was ever going to end up back on the highway. As it finally started redirecting me back to the hwy, I looked back and noticed the freeway parts I avoided were gridlocked and frozen solid. So, I'm a Pioneer Nav guy for life, now. :)

I'm sure a lot of good nav head units out there offer a feature like this though. Its just a matter of cost.
Nice.

Can you tie the pioneer usb into the current usb in the escape?
Also how is the startup time on it now. I heard the old firmware took like 2 mins to even startup and connect to your phone.
One more question lol.. Is there anyway to get sirius and xm for the 900BT

Thanks
Well, USB is USB, hence the "Universal" aspect. The F900 has a simple short female usb input cable in the back, and that's how you connect either your iPod (with some other cables you can get at BB or eBay), or you can connect a USB drive, or really anything. iPod has the advantage of an on-screen visual representation of the iPod's controls, so that's a plus. Other devices just have a listing of the folders and such.

Startup is a bitch, but remote start would solve that problem if it bothers you. I estimate it takes about 30-40 seconds before music starts playing in my unit, which is long enough for my processor to turn on and start sending a signal to my amps anyway, so it doesn't bother me. As it loads, it puts in the phone connection, then the navigation loads about 20 seconds later. Not TOO bad. I'm also used to this type of load time, because my last set of amps were powered in their pre-amp stage by old-school tubes. These types of amps needed 45 seconds minimum to warm up enough to play.

I'm sure Sirius and XM can get on there. It just takes a box or two from Pioneer's accessory lineup.

I'm not advocating the F900BT for everyone, I'm sure OEM is more streamlined and quicker. BUT....the things you want to do with OEM may not be possible so I'm simply giving you an aftermarket solution as a backup plan. Also unlocking the F900BT means you can watch movies on the road (not as scary as you think on a barren highway), and do nav stuff while underway.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
I can confirm that the 09 Navigation Headunit does not have Sync built in. It still uses the APIM module like all the other Sync vehicles. The issue you will run into is you need an external AMP for the 09 headunit and a custom wiring harness. Plus if you have Sirius satellite now the module for that is now built into the headunit. So that will have to come out, and might cause wiring issues. I have the 09 Headunit in my 08 Escape and plan to put it in my 10 Escape with Sync when it comes in at the end of October. Most of the 09 Navigation units will come out of a car with Sync as they are a popular option set together. You'll need to get one out of an Escape limited or an Edge to match the ambient light color. I have a 2009 F250 headunit with the green lights.

http://cid-3e577bf76f9e3e24.skydrive.live.com/browse.aspx/09 Navigation
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
679 Posts
Startup is a b**ch*, but remote start would solve that problem if it bothers you. I estimate it takes about 30-40 seconds before music starts playing in my unit, which is long enough for my processor to turn on and start sending a signal to my amps anyway, so it doesn't bother me.

My F900Bt plays music right away if using dvd music, sirius or radio. SD card with mp3 takes a while. Using 3.02 bought from pioneer. Still cheaper then buying a dealer unit!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
You can get a headunit off of ebay cheap if you wait and are patient. I'm not discussing the merits of Pioneer over OEM. Others can make that desicion themselves. My oem headunit starts up in 15-20 seconds after the splash screen.

You can ADD the OEM nav to a Sync Escape. My 09 headunit works after being programmed for a 2010 Limited Escape. You'll ruin the stock harness for the regular radio, but a replacement is $70 from the dealer if you ever sell/trade the truck. 2 Wire pairs have to be moved to integrate the OEM Nav into the Sync car. Remove 2 pins from the APIM module and move them to the NAV for the steering controls and make 2 from the APIM to the NAV to pass the Mic information. I have the first pair done but I need to find another pigtail for the Sync module, because I broke a pin I removed. Once I track that down should be all done. Unless I want to add the AMP/2 Tweeters/Backup camera for the Limited content on the XLT.

The new XLT is MUCH better than the 08 I had. Much nicer/smoother/better equiped.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
54 Posts
Im in the process of going from an 09 head unit (says Sanyo) to a nav head unit for 2010. I also have Sync and want to retain it. Looks like the harness I have is too short to get to the stock mounting point for the amp. Thats the same place my Sirius stock tuner from 2009 is presently. Do you know which wires have to be moved around? There is a black plug next to the GPS antanae cable and it used to plug into my sirius tuner. Since the new radio has Siruis inside, I just use the splitter. When I wired everything up the nav radio worked great but sync didnt and I wasnt sure if its because some wires that used to be in the plug in the sirius tuner need to go somewhere else. In addition there is a four pin plug that used to go into the front control bezel of the old stock radio but now there is no where for it to be plugged in. The new radio has a six prong female with another one above it with more pins then I can count. Im a little lost since the volume worked from steering wheel but not sync and phone button. Any ides?
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top