Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I got to ride in what has to be the coolest vehicle Ford ever made, a 1929 Tri-Motor Plane. From the information I read only 199 were made in total.

The EAA (Experimental Aircraft Association) tours the country with this plane as a fund raiser kind of thing. I knew it was in town but really wasn't going to ride in it although I wanted to see it, but a few days ago as I was leaving work this rumbled over my head and cruised toward the airport, so I had to go ride in the thing.

It got my flying bug acting up again, I used to be a licensed student pilot but fell out of training when fuel prices soared sending high grade aviation fuel prices higher than the planes I flew.

·
Premium Member
12,362 Posts
:thumb:

How long was the ride? I can only imagine what kind of sounds three small plane engines make. We have those huge, four-engine C130 cargo planes flying around here once in a while, since the Niagara Falls Air Force Base is still open, but the engines on this Ford plane are much smaller.

That must have been some ride!!!

·
Registered
1,220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The ride was about 15 minutes, I'd liked to have been out longer, especially paying to ride, but it was worth the experience. The flight was over a nice route, went over parts of town I was very familiar with, cool thing is I have aerial shots of where I work to show when I go back next week.

The sound was awesome, those engines ran very smooth and were not as loud as I expected but had a great rumble to them.

I took video, sound might not be great but it gives you an idea.

·
Registered
338 Posts
Wow! that was very kewl!! Thanks for sharing!

·
Premium Member
12,182 Posts