Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

· Registered
2005 Escape 2.3L XLS AWD
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is something I've been pecking away at for several months, I thought I'd share my experience. Adding factory cruise isn't particularly difficult, but if you aren't very comfortable with automotive wiring, this project may not be for you. Sorry I didn't take a bunch of pictures, but there again, if you can't understand what I'm saying here and follow a wiring diagram, then proceed at your own risk.

Why the bean counters decided to make a special front harness without a few wires for a cruise control harness baffles me. All necessary wires for the cruise are in the dash harness and go as far as connectors 260 and 263 at the driver LH side footwell. The wires for the necessary connections in the engine bay are there but apparently just disappear somewhere. Ford literally only saved about 50' of 20 gauge wire and a connector by doing this.

First step, go to a U-pull-it yard and find an Escape with cruise, preferably one of the same year and same engine as yours. I don't know how stable the color codes are between years / series, having matching colored wires makes this job much easier)
Pull:
Complete steering wheel with controls -- There's a tiny hex headed stud that sticks down at the back side of the wheel, this acts like a worm drive for the "nut" that holds the wheel in place. An electric drill works great here. Back off that stud about 100 turns until the wheel falls off in your hands--don't let it fall off! Unplug the 2 connectors from the clockspring. The connectors changed between series, you may want to pull your existing wheel off first to make sure you get the right connectors and save yourself a trip back (experience).