Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
12,362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The 2009 North American E/M/T models finally get a rear stabilizer bar.

I thought that Ford would tie the ends of the bar to links to each lower control arm, then mount the bar above the differential carrier. But Ford did something very different: they welded new mounts for the links to the inner side of each knuckle assembly, next to the spring. And they welded the new center bushing mounts to the lower side of the differential carrier.

Left:

Right:

I'll bet that the sales people at Alex Karras Lincoln-Mercury in Bradenton, FL, are still talking about my drive-by peek-under-the-rear-end-of-the-Mariner photo shoot.

:lol:

·
Premium Member
3,648 Posts
I bet they are going to be looking under it all the time trying to figure out if you did something to it on the underneath side lol

·
Premium Member
12,182 Posts
Eligant design, imo. ;) Then again, I'm not a designer or engineer... :angel:

·
Premium Member
12,362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
:bump:

I figured that there might be some interest in the 2009's new rear sway bar, since we now have a lot of new members.

·
Registered
103 Posts
I have that! I wish I knew someone nearby with a 2008 XLS 5-speed, so I could drive both and see the differences between the 2008 & 2009 models (different engine, no rear sway bar; is it a different transmission on the manual as well, JP?). The 2009 still feels pretty slow to respond in turns to me -- you can feel the top weight come around about midway through a turn -- but I've also never driven a truck so I have no frame of reference.

Since I'm home today, I felt like taking a look myself, so here is another photo of the two frame attachment points. Seemed easier for me to just go out in the driveway and roll under the car than it would have been to flop around underneath one at a dealership! =)

·
Premium Member
12,362 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·