Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

· Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have a 08 xlt escape with 4 wheel drive. i have noticed that the rear wheels dont seen to engage in slippery snow. that has got me stuck in snow 2 times now. i turn off the stability control, and that helps, but still the rear wheels still dont want to turn. is that normal? or am i doing something wrong?

· Premium Member
13,548 Posts
It is not normal. The back wheels should get power if the fronts are spinning and you have a 4x4 Escape.

· Premium Member
13,548 Posts
I'm no mechanic so I can't answer what's wrong. There have been a few similar threads so you might want to try some searching. I'm sure a few more knowledgeable members will chime in...

· Registered
224 Posts
Hello Vansprink;

A very unusual problem. The intelligent 4 wheel drive system in the 2005+ Escapes are pretty much bullet proof (and a very good system compared to other manufacturers).

The only thing I can possibly think of that may not throw a code and result in the rear wheels not engaging is the active torque coupling in the rear differential. The simplicity of the system makes for very few problems; if the driveshaft spins faster than the wheels are turning, the coupling locks up a friction plate in the rear axle which engages the 4WD.

You can mention this to your service dept and they may be able to either confirm or exclude this as the problem.

Cheers, Kai

· Registered
1,659 Posts
The 4WD system currently used engages every time you leave from a dead stop regardless of road conditions. The PTU turns the driveshaft all the time. A electro-mechanical clutch in the rearend transfers the power to the rear wheels.

· Registered
224 Posts
Short answer is no. You could do the 12 V congruency test across the leads of the connector on the diff but this is not likely the problem. If the wire was broke or the leads bent and not making contact, it would throw a code.