Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just took delivery on my new base model xls. It is a leased fleet vehicle and I had very limited upgrade options as the driver. I was able to purchase the Sync system but not the Sirius upgrade. My new HU has the Sirius button but no antenna or functionality. I have a Starmate unit & subscription from my old car & I don't mind installing the aftermarket magnetic antenna but I would prefer to avoid using the old Starmate when the stock HU claims to be "Sirius Ready". The dealership did not know & sent me to the local stereo shop who was just as clueless. Is there any way to activate the existing Sirius system in my new Escape?

Thanks in advance...

·
Registered
1,734 Posts
So you have a 2010 then? I hear that the Sirius is installed in the HU itself. Call Sirius and have them walk you through the activation, which involves pressing some buttons in sequence on the HU. This should be the key to knowing if you have or dont have Sirius. But all you would need is anteena if you do have a Sirius installed.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Awesome, that would be great news if it is in fact the case. I'll give it a try & let you know how it turns out.

Thanks!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Apparently this is not the case. I spent 15mins on the line with Sirius & we couldn't pull a serial number out of the radio. Evidently this radio is not capable in any way shape or form. At least that's what I understand despite the significant language barrier. If anyone knows otherwise, please chime in. I would really prefer to not have to mount up the old starmate if it can be helped.

·
Registered
1,734 Posts
Well I guess your nor equipped. The buttons they asked you to press where to get the siruis to activate. Thus if you pressed those buttons and nothing happened then its not gonna happen. :shrug:

·
Registered
836 Posts