Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello City!

My name is Andrey, I am a professional web designer from Toronto, Ontario. And as any designer I am quite visual person.
In 2010 I purchased white 2011 Ford Escape XLT and fell in love overall with its new body style and technical characteristics, but from the second day started planning miscellaneous exterior changes.

According to my personal observations, the majority of drivers who decide to customize, have black, red and silver Escapes. No light colors and white especially were mentioned. Correct me if I am wrong! And I am glad to change the situation!

First I got rid of default chrome grill and tinted front windows. My personal opinion is that if there is only one chrome part in exterior, it looks cheap and lonely (as it was in my case). I have ordered new grill and painted it into mate black color, that matches all black exterior details and makes a solid contrast to white body. Moreover I have all-black interior so it matches everywhere!

I have ordered black headlights from sport package from eBay recently to match the new grill. Waiting them to come.

But today I would like to share with you my idea of how to customize your wheels without spending lots of money.

I am starting Rims Visual Enlargement Project on my Escape!

The most popular XLT model comes with Base 16" wheels that look not big enough on medium size SUV (IMHO). And you need at least $1200 (according to my research) to upgrade to cheapest 17". Today I am not ready to spend that much money. So I started thinking of a walkaround.

Using my experience in Photoshop and design tricks I am offering a solutions for those who have 16" Base (NOT CHROME) Rims and ready to spend some time in their garage. I didn't calculate all the expenses for the project, but it is obvious and you will see that it will be absolutely incomparable with purchasing new wheels set.

·
Registered