Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been using the JL Audio "Flatwedge" sub for a couple months now. (Part number CP108LG-W3v3.) Here it is:

http://www.crutchfield.com/s_13693133/J ... tml?tp=112

It is hands-down the best 8-inch sub I've ever heard. Most of my passengers assume it's a 10 or a 12, and make me prove otherwise!

I bought it because I could completely conceal it under a customized floor at just a little above stock height. (i.e. about one inch.) I can deal with an inch since it saves me the trouble of building my own custom box.

For anyone else contemplating a minimalist false-floor sub setup in their Escape, the Flatwedge is highly recommended. I thought the glowing customer reviews at Crutchfield were hyperbole until I installed it. (FYI, I'm powering it with an Alpine Class D mono amp rated 300 watts at 4 ohms.)

My current floor is a work in progress. My original build (used for a couple months) worked fine, but I wanted to make it stronger. This time I'll have some access hinges and other goodies, so maybe it's not QUITE "minimalist" after all... but still simple compared to what some people on here have done. Kudos to you guys! You've done amazing work, but I just don't want to take it quite that far. I want solid bass, with hidden components, under a floor I can still put heavy things upon. I've been pleasantly surprised though; like I said, this little guy is amazing, and I got considerably more bass than I was expecting! I should also note that it can handle all types of music with a little tweaking. (Which is good because I have eclectic taste.)

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Here it is covered. Looks stock!

And here it is open. Gotta love recessed hinges! I could've done a little more bracing on the left, but it's already super-strong, plus I want easy-access to the amp controls. Got a little storage compartment up front now too!