Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm thinking of a different style of side mirror LED, but admittedly I am an auto electricy noob.
Essentially...

1. I would remove the side mirror from the housing assembly.
2. Place a strip of blue LEDs on the back side of the mirror more towards the outside with the LEDs pointed to the outside.
3. Wire to ????
4. Reassemble
5. When blinker would be turned on, a soft blue light encasing the lateral borders of the mirror would flash with the greatest intensity furthest from the vehicle and gradually decreasing moving towards the vehicle (based on the location and the directionality of the LEDs). This would be less obvious than the clear LED arrows placed on the mirror but look better IMO.

I'll post a simple pic tomorrow when I get out of work.

Any thoughts on this?
Any thoughts on which LEDs to use?
Will I need a soldering iron?

·
Premium Member
12,362 Posts
First, I wouldn't use blue LEDs unless you want to be stopped by the... er... authorities. I knew someone who was stopped for having blue windshield washer LEDs.

Second, I'd stay away from the flexible LED strips. After one or two winters and some baking in the sun, those things will look like cracked and discolored junk and leave dried-up/cracked goo where you mount them.

I was also thinking of adding something like this to the Escape's mirrors, as well as puddle lamps, and these really got me interested:

http://tinyurl.com/274ddrz

Those plastic LED modules have similar angles to the Escape's mirror housings, and the could probably be added with some precision cutting and some plastic welding inside the mirror housing after being removed from the Lexus add-on housings. These modules also have a raised outer edge that directs light toward the back of the car.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·