Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I just wanted to introduce myself and say hello! I've been lurking on this forum for the past couple days; doing some research on Escapes, since in my 'new used car' searches, I've been led to them.

As I just said, I'm in the market for getting a "new" used car. I've been driving my 1993 Chevy Lumina Euro Sport since I was 16 (in 2006). Bought it with 54,000 miles on it (yup, 54,000!), and now it's at 112,000k, and poor Lucille is just getting old and tired. She recently got sideswiped, and I'm just sensing her time is near. I live in Michigan's upper peninsula, and I'm looking for a 4wd SUV that isn't too giant. I've got a budget that ABSOLUTELY stops at about 9,500, and I'd rather spend less than that.

Aaaanyway, I've been reading various Escape forums and it seems other than some transmission blowing out for no reason issues (which is scary but appears to be the minority) that Escapes seem to be very reliable and relatively cheap to maintain (as opposed to Subarus, which I was also looking at, but people on Subaru boards warned another student against them due to high repair cost).

So I'd like to ask the experts: Is a 2001-2005 era Escape with likely over 100k miles a good buy for a broke college student? I know absolute squat about fixing my own vehicles, and I don't really have time to spend hours tinkering with my car, either (yay nursing school!) I do, however, have a legit mechanic who treats me well, does good work, and doesn't charge out the ying-yang. I understand that every single specific Escape will be different, depending on how it was treated, maintenance, etc, but from a general standpoint, does it seem like a good buy?

Here's an example of something I'd be looking at: http://www.iseecars.com/Car_Listing/1758564992/2005_Ford_Escape_XLT_CUSTER_WI.html

Thanks everyone for any input you may have!

·
Registered
8,251 Posts