Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 02 Escape started acting up the other day and I took it to Advance where they ran the diagnostics. Said the ignition coil went bad on cylinder "a". Guy doesn't know which cylinder this is. I'm assuming this is the first cylinder but don't know which one that is when looking at them. Can anybody help?

·
Registered
345 Posts
They didn't show you the readout on the scanner? Or give you a printout?
I would take the car back so they can re-scan it or take it to another auto parts store, so that you can get the actual code or codes.

I'm not an expert on codes or anything, but as an example a cylinder misfire typically shows up as P030X w the X = 1,2,3,4,5, or 6 for a V6.
I don't know what sort of code a bad coil will throw.

·
Registered
197 Posts
If it is in fact cylinder 1, you are in for a treat. That would be the infamous back (side closest to the firewall) row. Those tend to fail due to the combination of heat and moisture back there. It would be wise to either replace all three while you can, or at least rotate to front three to the back. Believe me, it gets a little annoying to have to pull the intake off repeatedly. You can usually find a great deal on eBay on a set of coils. Also, if you are the least bit mechanically inclined, this is a job you can tackle in your driveway and save yourself a bundle. One more thing, replace the upper and lower intake gaskets while you are in there along with spark plugs and coil.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·