Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks!
I'm a newbie here and was have been reading posts here and there. I have seen that a few people have lifted their escape using BDS springs or something similar.
What I was wondering is...has anyone seen/built a true trail rig style Escape? I was pondering this while watching SpikeTV this weeked. I realize that the escape is a unibody and has no true low range transfer case but could all of this be added. With a bit of research, I found that a 91-94 Explorer has a wheelbase about an inch shorter than an Escape. Is it possible to strip an Explo down to the frame/drivetrain and drop and Escape(minus the engine and drivetrain) on top the frame? I have seen a few lifted Explo's in my time so I figure if it was possible you could use the lift on the Explo frame and have a rather trailworthy Escape. It would involve TONS of cutting, welding, and cutom work but I think it could be possible.
Something to think about I guess.

·
Premium Member
1,256 Posts
With enough money anything is possible. I really like the looks of the escape and wanted to make a mini monster truck out of it initally. The only way to do it would be as you describe. Jack up the body and slide a 4x4 under it.

The chassis and drive train started life as a mazda 626... so it really is a car. (did I really :bag: say that)?

·
Registered
781 Posts
Surfscape said:
make a mini monster truck out of it
Yeah, Rob did this to his. :yes:

·
Premium Member
13,541 Posts
Yes I did :yes: :lol: :lol:

·
Premium Member
12,362 Posts
I'll bet that there wasn't even much welding involved.

·
Registered
416 Posts
jpark said:
I'll bet that there wasn't even much welding involved.

I don't know, that looks like a pretty extreme transformation of an Escape.
But what do I know? :shrug:

·
Premium Member
3,648 Posts