Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All...Newbie here, but had to get started right away on tinkering with stuff. I stole this idea from a guy on another forum however, it works great/looks great(for 15 bucks) so I thought I'd share. I simply took a garbage can and cone filter adaptor then shaped everything around the factory cool air duct that pulls from behind the headlight...It seals against the hood to keep warm air out.

Materials Used:
- aluminum MAF sensor adaptor w/ filter included: 10.00 on ebay
- 1 black rubbermaid garbage can: 3.00 at lowes
- 1 5ft strip of high temp pipe insulator .97 cents at lowes
- 1 pack of zip ties

Tools Needed:
- Dremel: cutoff wheel, sanding discs or wheels, and cutting bit for the MAF adapter hole.
- Flat head screw driver

Time Needed: I'd call it about 1.5 hours after all the cut, test fit and repeat procedure.

See Pics Below of Finished product: (sidenote...i know my battery is still disconnected ;) )

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well it's the same thing that many people spend 200 bucks on from a functionality stand point. More/cooler air = more power, if you just add a filter it likely wont work...The key is isolating less restricted cool air from the factory inlet tube(the one under the fuse panel).

I left that tube in place as our escapes have a good set up to begin with...they just don't breath well through a paper filter. The heat is kept out by the insulation foam sealing against the hood so any warm engine air is minimal...It definitely runs stronger. I will follow up with more info on mpg gains after a full tank. - I definitely feel it the most on top end power...gets up and goes alot quicker at highway speed.

·
Registered
1,734 Posts
OUT'FREAK'N'STANDING!!!!! Not bad let us know how it works and more instructions on how to :thumb:

ALSO using a open tip end air filter would work better dont you think?

·
Registered