Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am fairly new to Escape-City but have been reading for a few weeks and have decided to install a new radio into my 08 Escape. After seeing positive feedback about the Alpine iDA-X305S, I bought one. I am installing it myself, but I am having big issues so far. I have tried to follow what everyone has said to do, but cannot for the life of me get this radio to power on. What could I be doing wrong?

So far, I have bought the radio, a metra wiring harness, mounting kit, and most recently a PAC OEM-FRD24. I have everything connected properly and all cables connected as well. But this unit is refusing to power on. The only cables I have not connected are the Orange (Dimmer), Solid Blue (Power Antenna), and anything for an amp. Am I supposed to connect the orange and blue cables? I do not have an amp, does that matter, or will this unit only work with an amp connected? Also, the ends on the orange and blue cables are slightly different than the other cables and I am unsure how to connect them properly, if thats even the case. Is there something Im missing? Thanks!

·
Registered
30 Posts
The first thing I would check is to be sure the unit itself is not defective. Have you simply hooked up the power wires directly to a 12 volt source to see if the unit works? If after applying 12 volts to the power and ignition lines and the unit does not power up, get a replacement HU. The dimmer wire is used to dim your HU display and lights when you turn on your parking/head lights, so yeah, I probably would hook up this wire. But troubleshoot your HU first. If your HU turns on, you may have an incorrect harness or wire that came loose somewhere.

·
Registered
1,734 Posts