Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

I'm new to E-C and hoping you more experienced folks can help me with a few questions. More about me below the q's if you're interested.

I have a 2008 XLS 5-speed FWD, which started (and still is) pretty bare of options. I have added a few small things, like the wet trunk & cargo cover, a Yakima rail system on the roof, swapped in the factory 6-disc, wireless door keypad, fitted wet okole seat covers off an 02 modified to fit my 08 (I am a sponsored athlete and am in and out of the water a lot), and built a removable internal bike rack into the wet trunk.

- Is the factory alarm module (7L3Z19A361AA) compatible with this trim (manual trans)? I have added a wireless door keypad which is used very often. The factory alarm works with the key buttons and does not require an additional fob, correct? How would it work with the wireless pad? What is the consensus on the effectiveness of the factory alarm?

- What is the factory window tint level % on the cars that have it? I have the base "untinted" / light green windows and am trying to decide what tint level to do for cargo security purposes. I often have expensive bicycles & other gear inside the vehicle, and want them a bit less apparent. I don't want the tint to be so dark that it greatly impedes my ability to see through my windows at night. I am planning on doing this myself and would love some leads on high quality, well priced, well fitting pre-cut film. Suggestions / experiences?

- Has anyone retrofitted SYNC into an 2008? Any writeups out there?

- Where's the cheapest place to find a hidden-hitch style round receiver hitch? No, I'm not planning on towing with my 4-banger manual, but I would prefer a 2" to fit existing accessories.

- What does it take to get HD FM? Is this a module that can be added to the 6-disc?

Thanks for your input!

A bit more of an introduction about me: