Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, so I'm new to escape city, and owning cars, I'm 16 lol.
I have the honor of owning an 02 escape xlt v6... but I'm not diggin' the system.
I have a tight budget, but I don't want to compromise quality.

Here's what I've looked at so far to put in:

2 pairs of Pioneer 6x8 4 way car speakers for the doors (280 peak pwr, 50 rms) each

alpine 50W x 4 iPod/satellite Radio/HD radio ready car deck (50 peak pwr, 18 rms) x 4 channels

1 Infinity 12'' dual voice coil 8-ohm sub (1000 peak pwr, 300 rms)

I'm not sure on the amp to buy, but I'd prefer it be from best buy, since my mom doesn't want to buy from random stores on the internet, and wants everything to be bought in one place and installed there.

THANKS! :peace:

:wave: :wave: :wave: :wave:

·
Registered
223 Posts
Ok first off, welcome, and second PLEASE PLEASE PLEASEEEEE try and convince your mother to let you take it to the pros... I have seen too many terrible installs from the likes of best buy and future shop.... but if this is your only option then make sure the installer knows what they are doing first...

Also judging by your set up you can either use a 4 channel amp or a single amp to run the sub and a amp for the speakers, your reasoning for this would be that you have a 8 ohm woofer of 300 watts so you can easily fulfill this with one amp, and then get a smaller 100watt amp for the speakers, or try and find a suitable multi channel for all of your speakers.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the welcome. : )
But I think I've decided to hold off on the speakers to save some money.

And I'm going to switch to Kenwoods since they are on sale buy one get one free.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp ... 6840602883

And I know about the Best Buy ordeal. :roll:
I took my computer to get looked at by Fire Dog in Circuit City... worst decision.