Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I go to college in the northern part of West Virginia and I recentely brought my 2010 Ford Escape XLT FWD V6 up to campus. We just started getting bad weather :frozen: and to get on my campus and to my dorm buildings, I have to go up some steep inclines. :doh: When driving up it today, I experienced a fair amount of spin getting up the hill. I was wondering if anyone knew any advice/tips to help me get up the hill without spinning out or loosing control of the vehicle. That would be awesome!

· Premium Member
7,658 Posts
My tip would be to remember that momentum is key... and that gunning it vs. slow crawl will surprise you.

· Registered
288 Posts
I was a driving instructor for many years, and one of the best tips I used to teach people for going up hills, whether snow/ice covered or rain slick, is give yourself a run at it. Like Tang mentioned, you need momentum to keep your vehicle going where you want it to go. Remember.....you're fighting gravity all the way up. Also, make sure you're using the right tires for this type of driving. Winter tires on all 4 corners is the best way to go.

One important item I should also mention: 4 wheel drive doesn't mean 4 wheel stop! 4WD gets you going, but it doesn't stop you any faster than an ordinary 2WD vehicle. It's basic physics. :)

· Registered
3,080 Posts
+1000 to what fotojack said above.
I just feel over stressing the necessity of winter/snow tires for every day commute like yours.
You may also want to experiment with 2nd gear in the tranny instead of D.That may limit the tendency for slippage.

· Registered
758 Posts
Tires please. There are tires designed for winter conditions and these can make a difference and minimize the need for excess speed "run-up" to make it over hill. I live north of your location, across the state line.

· Registered
1,698 Posts