Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just bought a Pre-Owned Certified 2007 Limited ESCAPE 3.0 Liter etc. Problems with noisy Continental tires which I know have been problematic with this SUV. Thinking of switching tires to Yokohama brand. I'm hoping that this will quite ride and enhance road handle. Any suggestions for this vehicle that seems rather noisy and a bit stiff on the steering wheel? Thanks for any suggestions : )

·
Premium Member
19,571 Posts
Hi and welcome to the City !! :)

I'm sure that these guys will be able to come up with plenty of suggestions for you. :thumb:

I went ahead and deleted your other thread since it was a duplicate of this one.

Thank you for joining us !! :)

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Colleen. I'm a very newbie to the blog thing, so I appreciate you comments and help.

Bill

·
Premium Member
19,571 Posts
You're welcome and it won't take ya long to get the hang of things. :)

You're gonna love it here !! :beer: Feels like a second home !! :D

·
Premium Member
4,977 Posts
Are you switching over from a GM by chance?

Pretty much anything that's not a budget tire will be better than the stock Continentals. If you want a quiet ride with a slight performance edge, look for something marketed as a "Touring" tire. You might look at A/T tires because "it's a truck", but pick the wrong one and you'll sound like a semi on the highway.

·
Registered
13,629 Posts
Hello minijimi and :welcome: I have a set of cooper all terrains. They are noisier than conventional highway tires. When a big 4x4 Toyota or a Nissan 4x4 with full on mud tires drive past me, the road noise is very loud. Sometimes, i miss the original highway tires for quietness.