Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so im very new(today) to this forum... i have searched and found no answer to my questions. My wife drives an 02 escape xls 3.0 4x4 with 150k on it, it has a fresh tune up, fuel filter, clean k&n,new tranny, shocks, struts, strut mounts, and 09 escape 17s. Ok so here is the issue she is getting 15 mpg in the city and on the highway. I have a good friend who is a reputable and very good tuner he has tuned the pcm for 87 oct and fuel milage,turned off all the dpfe, egr, evap, rear o2s, and changed the duty cycle slightly on the front o2 heater tohelp the problem with no change in mileage with her driving or mine. I am a very capable mechanic and work on my own cars and crew chief for an NHRA / IHRA top sportsman and top dragster team ...But im at a loss any help would be greatly appreciated. If i cant get better mileage im selling and really dont want to the wife likes it alot.

·
Registered
1,734 Posts
When did you get your MPG readings, before or after the tune?

·
Premium Member
13,543 Posts
I viewed... no idea why your mileage wouldn't improve on the highway. My city MPG is regularly in the 14-16 MPGs so I don't think you will do much better there. I can get 20-21 with all highway. That's driving a consistent 55-65 mph and never flooring the throttle. If I do 70+ or drive aggressively at all, my MPGs will go down to 19. My average over the last 4 months has been 16.69 with a low of 14.21 and a high of 21.62 (only over 20 twice)... From my P.O.V. your MPG's aren't that much worse than mine and I'm not sure there is much you can do to improve it. Some Escapes are just thirstier that others...

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·