Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to purchase a 2003 trib 4x4 109,000 kms

nice truck rides good. problem is that reading a lot of post at that other place (and been waiting in limbo since christmas). I have come to the conclusion that the Escape/Trib have quite a few tranny problems.Will some one let me know the TRUTH about this. :bang: Wife has been reading as well

thank you for the help

·
Registered
1,305 Posts
I'm not technical expert on this, but the conclusion is that the CD4E tranny is a somewhat weak link for this vehicle. However, if you take care of it and flush it regularly, most people have no problems whatsoever with it.

Some of the other more technically inclined can probably give you the particulars, but I wouldn't shy away from this great little SUV because of it. Every vehicle has some weak spots in their design. If you read Consumer Reports and have the Buying Guide you will see that none of the triplets have the transmission listed as a problem area in the ratings. I would conclude from that that this is a problem for just a very few vehicles and not something to worry about. If it happens to your car, it's a relatively painless fix - expensive - but fixable.

Hope that helps.

·
Premium Member
1,256 Posts
KiKi is correct,

It seems more to do with maintenance than overall design failure. Now buying a used car has its risks in not knowing the true use and maintenance history so you would need to feel comfortable with that detail. Some of us go over board and change every other oil change and others use a patented partial drain and suppliment program to keep the juice fresh.

I'll tell you I really can feel the difference after a good flush and refill so the system is in my opinion effected by old dirty fluid and needs to be refreshed, same really with all cars, fresh fluids make them run better and last longer.

·
Premium Member
12,362 Posts