Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
338 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
While working last night (Halloween Eve), things were crazy as they usually are on the night before Halloween (I work as a police officer). As I was getting ready to get off shift, a call went out stating there was a motorcycle crash. I was just around the corner so I was first Officer on scene. What I saw was that a group of 3 motorcyclists were travelling together when they encountered a deer. The resulting crash killed both the deer and one of the motorcyclist. The other cyclist had serious head injuries. The 3rd one escaped hitting anything and did not crash.

My point to this is that none of the motorcyclist were wearing helmet's. The injuries (amazingly enough) to both the cyclist were relatively minor EXCEPT for the head injuries which is what took the life of one cyclist and will greatly reduce the quality of life of the other one So, for all you motorcyclist out there, please let this be a reminder to always wear a helmet. It is NEVER fun to have to do a next of kin notification.

Rant over!

·
Registered
8,251 Posts
Wow!!! :shock: :shock: :shock:

I agree! Safety first! Probably would of had a different outcome if they were wearing helmets!

Is it required by law where you are to wear helmets?

·
Registered
338 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No, they are not required by law in Florida as long as the rider has $10,000 in medical benefit insurance. They are required if the rider is under 21 but none of the rider's in this incident were under 21 years of age. Still a very sad case!

·
Registered
1,506 Posts
The Brain Bucket should be a must! Yeah I've heard all the stuff about helmet law suck etc... but if you don't want scrambled eggs in that egg crate wear a Gourd Guard!

·
Premium Member
13,541 Posts