Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
168 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So.. it seems that our Escape has developed the dreaded "rough idle when cold" disease that I've read so much about.

I've checked all the usual suspects..cleaned the MAF sensor, cleaned the IAC valve, checked all hoses and tubes for vacuum leaks...the problem still exists and is slowly getting worse. As soon as the engine warms up..it idles as smooth as silk.

I'm pretty much convinced I've got a bad inlet gasket somewhere, so I've bought a new set of gaskets (plus new spark plugs) and am ready to do the job. Of course I'd prefer it if the problem was only an upper gasket but as long as I'm doing the job I'll replace both upper and lower to cover all bases.

I'm not a mechanic and have never done this before...so all advice will be gratefully accepted :) I do have the Haynes manual and have read plenty of how-to articles so I think I'll be ok with it. I sure hope so because we're planning a road trip in a week or so and it would help if the Escape was actually mobile :)

If anyone has any tips for me, please feel free to let me know.

One more thing... if you're in Australia (as I am) and you're looking for the gasket set, including upper and lower, IAC and throttle body..do NOT contact your friendly Ford or Mazda dealer. The price will absolutely astound you!!!! And I'm talking HUNDREDS of $$$$'s. Do what I did and buy online from our friends in the States...mine were from Rock Auto, but there are plenty of places to buy where the cost including freight is way under $50.

Oh...another thing that might slow me down a little is that I've just had a bit of surgery (gall bladder removal) so leaning over the engine pulling out bits and pieces might be a bit of pain in more ways than one :) But..you gotta do what you gotta do, right?

·
Registered
274 Posts