Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello to all! i am a newbie in regards to mobile audio, and so far i have replaced the stock stuff in my 03 escape with the following; jvc arsenal KD-AHD59 head unit, 4 kenwood KFC-C688IE 3-way speakers for the doors, 1 alpine MRP-300 amp @ 50 watts rms per channel to drive the kenwoods, and i want to add a JL audio stealthbox, driven by an alpine MRP F500 (300 watts rms mono) amp. keep in mind that my focus is MUCH more on sound quality, rather than awaking the dead. i listen to old school hip hop, r and b, rock, and contemporary jazz. any suggestions? what would you change if anything? also i am trying to keep the set-up reasonably priced. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! oh by the way, how can i get those steering wheel radio controls for the 03 escape?

·
Registered
280 Posts
Hmm...I couldn't find any speakers with that model number. Do you mean the Kenwood KFC-C688ie? Those are the one I have along with a JVC KD-R600 head unit. Definitely a budget system here! :) Anyway, maybe I can at least give you my experiences so you know what to expect.

With the head unit at the stock settings, I personally thought that the speakers were very bright (ie. not much low, but a lot on the high end). While I did end up toning that down a bit with the head uint's EQ, it certainly was a welcome change from the stock speakers which sound "muffled" to me. I did have to play with the EQ settings for quite a while before I was happy with the speakers. The speakers won't rattle your windows apart, but they can get a little bit of thump when things are set right (I generally like a more balanced sound). I don't know if speakers break in or if it's just my ears, but I've been happy with the setup so far.