Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
250 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Long time no post. (Had some various life upheavals happen, but I'm back now.)

I figured I'd run this by the group -- I've read down some of the threads here and found similar problems, but I'm not really sure if they apply to me yet, since I'm not a mechanic at all and can't tell a header from a coil from a catalytic spark plug differential upper reverse flange.

Not long after the rainy season here in Japan fired up with a vengeance, dumping buckets of rain on us for a solid month and causing flash floods and mudslides around the country, Ol' 303 started idling roughly. There is never any problem starting her up, but (and mostly when the engine is relatively cold) it will often "miss", as if a cylinder is intermittently misfiring. Purrrrrrrrrrrguntrrrrrrrrrrrrrrguntguntrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrguntrrrrrrrrrrrr.

If I give the accelerator a good pump while at idle, and rev the engine, sometimes I can hear a cylinder knock.

There seems to be no problem when accelerating. The only times I experience problems are during idle, and when driving up slight inclines and the transmission wants to drop out of overdrive -- in that case, the engine will miss a few times, and then GGRRONK drop down to a lower gear, rather hard.

This weekend the wife and I drove up into the mountains for a day trip, and this happened often until I realized that if I turned the O/D switch OFF while driving uphill, the problem all but went away.

I'm likely going to take her (the rig, but maybe my wife also) to the local Ford dealer in a week or so and have them take a look. I don't want this problem to grow until it starts causing real damage somewhere.

Any thoughts on this? Am I about to have a serious difficulty?

·
Registered
1,734 Posts
Clogged injectors, dirty throttle body air filter, or bad gas?

·
Registered
168 Posts