Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all as you may now im new to the escape mods
im looking at lowering her and want to know as per springs what u lot use or reckomend im looking at only maybe 2 inches also have any of u put air bags on one
im sorta looking at this option aswell
so any info or first hand knowledge of doing either of these would be great
cheers

·
Super Moderator
14,901 Posts
Don't do it. It looks so nice as is.

·
Registered
446 Posts
I agree with MadMax. If you were to do anything, lower it an inch or two.

·
Premium Member
1,256 Posts
Imtrax and H&R seem to be the popular ones. I have H&R which is 2" and it has a great ride, better handling and of course I like the lower look. It also levels out the body so the rear is not sticking up in the air.

I stallation is really the costly part. If you can do yourself it is reasonable if not this could be an expensive mod. Remember to account for the cost of a wheel alignment when your done!

Good luck

·
Registered
232 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
yeah i was only going to lower it 2 inches, 50mm,
what do u guys call expensive i have been quoted $400 aussie dollars
which is about the going rate for it here in aus for any car to be lowered springs only
i sorta like the look atm but reckon just a little lower would changer the stance and look a hell of a lot better
cheers

·
Premium Member
1,256 Posts
I'm not sure what the rate for a mechanic is down under but here the install is about 4 hours for an experienced mech at around $70 USD (which these days ain't what it used to be :)). The springs are usually $200 to $350 from what I've seen. SO teh install could be as much as the parts. Then you have the alignment which could be another $100 USD. Some ships won't do an alignment on aftermarket parts so you might research this and if you have someone else do the work make sure they do the alignment too.