Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
whats up every body the name is brandon im new to the city and i really need some info on lowering my escape. Im looking at getting 20s and i really want about a 1.5 to 2 inch drop i think it would look mean. Ive heard something about torsion bars or somthing and then new springs i just need to know excatly what to buy that way i dont have to buy them from the shop and get screwed.

·
Registered
13,629 Posts
Hello Brando. :) The only thing i get paranoid about, in context of a lowered car is the under carriage. My concern is i worry about the oil sump being damaged. :shrug:

·
Premium Member
1,256 Posts
H&R or Imtrax spring lower about 2 inches front and back. Levels out the car and 20" rims will fit. It is best to match tire diameter with the stock size when possible as going larger (in diameter) does have an effect on the escapes pep.

If you do the job yourself you can get it done for about $250-300 all in plus a Saturdays labor.

Mostly standard tools except for the Strut spring compressor wich can be bought or rented.

If you have a shop do the work them you can double the price (atleast). :cigar:

Here is a good example of doing most of the same sort of work as part of a strut and shock change. Pics should give you an idea of what you in for.

http://www.escape-city.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=945

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
do you think the trouble is worth 300 bucks or do you think i should atempt it myself?

·
Registered
297 Posts
i love the ride height of the car personally, makes a nice change from the 'hot hatches' i normally drive!

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
resq51kmg365 said:
brando32 said:
do you think the trouble is worth 300 bucks or do you think i should atempt it myself?
I think he's saying it is around 300 bucks to do it yourself, double that price for a shop to do it.