Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone! Newbie here! Here's my issue: On 12/3/08, I took my 2006 Escape to the dealer to have a trans leak looked at. My vehicle only had 26,000 miles on it at the time so I was a little miffed that I was leaking any fluid at all! The left front axel seal was replaced at a cost of around $215 and I got my car back on 12/5/08. On 1/8/09, I took the vehicle back to the dealer for the same trans leak again, and a new oil leak. They replaced the axel seal again at their expense and told me I needed to have 3 oil leaks fixed! They fixed the oil pan gasket, front crank seal and right valve cover gasket. I questioned how could a vehicle with somewhat low mileage spring 3 oil leaks at once, right after trans work was done, and if the two are related. They assured me that this sort of thing happens and nothing they did when they fixed the trans leak (twice) caused the oil leaks. Cost just under $1,100 and didn't get my vehicle back until 1/14/09. Returned to the dealer on 2/2/09 with another trans and oil leak. The trans leak is definitely the same one that has been repaired twice already, but they think the oil leak is possibly yet another one! It is now the 6th and they are not done with my vehicle and can't confirm if the oil leak is one they already fixed or if it's a new one and they're going to charge me for it. In any of your "professional" opinions, do you think the oil leaks were caused by the trans seal repair and do you think it unusual that a vehicle with 26,000 miles on it that has been properly maintained should be leaking that much fluid from that many spots? At the same time???? I have made several attempts to contact Ford customer service to express my concern and dismay and have basically been told to get bent since my car is out of the warranty period (ended in August).

·
Premium Member
13,541 Posts