Ford Escape Automobiles Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here guys, and I'm wondering what would be suggested Winter tires for my Ford Escape?

225/65R17

Initially I was looking into the Michelin Latitude X-Ice Xi2 but after some search, I found some people that did not approve this tire for Winters with lots of snow (I live in Montreal). Kept searching and found some people raving about the Bridgestone BLIZZAK WS-60

anyway, what is your 2 cents guys?

·
Registered
3,080 Posts
Winter tires, (or tyres for fish-and-chips aficionados), differ a lot from brand to brand.
Michelin, Bridgestone, Dunlop and Nokian all make top efficiency winter tires...but not all tires behave the same, depending on the state of the surface.Some are better on soft snow, others are better on ice and some drive better on slush.
For Montreal with its extremely low winter temperatures I would choose the tire with the softest
compound.I am sure that you will be able to find a reputable tire place in your area where you will have the right guidance.
I am not always taking it for granted what some people write in forums.Their comments may be legitimate for their weather conditions but most probably not for mine.

·
Registered
758 Posts
How about the Goodyear Fontera Triple Tread or Nokia WR all season tires that both feature the "snowflake and mountain" symbol. This indicates tires meeting severe winter requirements. A huge bonus-a treadwear rating of 60,000 miles for the Goodyear and 50,000 miles for the Nokia. Pure winter tires do not carry any treadwear warranty. I got the Goodyear tires and use them four months a year with excellent results.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
can't use the All Season tires in Quebec, by law we must have Winter tires by December 15

·
Registered
21 Posts